谷歌暑期实习 2020

Date: 4th + 5th Nov, 2019
Type: Technical phone screen (45 minutes each on 2 consecutive days)

Interview 1:

-Mentions a little about his role at Google and how he’d worked on something similar to a project on my CV during his own undergraduate years
-Asked a single question: Assume that in an alternate reality, we use C++ (my preferred language) instead of HTML/other scripting languages to design webpages. Design a class to which allows us to blink an object on screen at some given frequency (apparently there is some HTML tag that let’s you do this? I had no idea).

Comment: I have been a competitive programmer for almost an year now and did a fair bit of interview specific algo/DS questions to prepare for the interview from leetcode, but this question really caught me off-guard. It wasn’t just the nature of the question but also the large amount of skeleton code that he quickly wrote on the doc for me to use. And while I have been coding in C++ for years now, I honestly know only that limited portion of the language which is used in competitive programming and nothing more than that. I wasn’t super comfortable with desigining classes and subclasses and employing OOP paradigm in coming up with my solution.

Secondly, while I came up with the idea of exploiting the fact that a computer would in general spend about a second in performing ~10^8 calculations, and using that as a way to keep track of the time, the interviewer commented on my solution and how it essentially runs throughout the duration of the blinking process and blocks the main thread (something like that, not entirely sure since it was the first time I was hearing about it myself)

After some back and forth discussion, I started to make use of the clock() function to keep a track of time and do something along the lines of:

counter = 0 //stores how many times the object was visible on screen
while (1)
{
	if (counter == PERIOD_OF_BLINKING)
		break;

initial_time = clock();