Is WeWork the next Theranos?

As a business owner, I love the concept of WeWork. Having spent almost 20 years paying high office lease costs while locked into 3 - 5 year rolling contracts with ruthless landlords, the concept of leasing office space as and when my company needs it, at affordable rates with minimal commitment, is just awesome.

My love of WeWork was further cemented after I listened to an interview with one of its founders Miguel McKelvey, who spoke about coming to New York and not being able to find a desk to work from, and how this problem inspired him to make high-quality office space available to everyone everywhere.

So I wasn’t surprised to learn that WeWork has been able to raise billions of dollars in funding and has even become New York’s largest tenant. This seemed like a classic story of two poor iconoclasts finding a glitch in the elitist system and making the world better for everyone!

But now I’m not so sure.

Why Theranos?

You’ve probably heard about Theranos, the company that raised hundreds of millions of dollars based on their promise of reducing blood testing to a simple finger prick. Horrifying needles and vials would be gone forever, and lives would be saved via the early detection of health risks after everyone could afford more regular painless blood tests.

The Theranos story is reality better than fiction, if you haven’t done so already I highly recommend reading Bad Blood by John Carreyrou. Or you could just wait for it to become a film. It’s that entertaining.

Sorry to ruin the ending if you don’t know it, but Theranos turned out to be a big fraud. The company’s CEO Elizabeth Holmes basically sold an unachievable dream to a bunch of rich people and politicians, who ended up begrudgingly accepting that it was just that. Holmes somehow isn’t now in jail, but she’s unable to run a company for a while, after which I’m sure she’ll die her hair and try something similar again.