Facebook - Data Engineer

Current Employment :
Position : BI Developer at Anthem, Inc.

Application Process :
I was reached out to by a recruiter at Facebook. The entire process took 2+ months. I interviewed at Facebook (Menlo Park, CA) in March 2019.

Recruiter Phone Call (30 minutes):
A recruiter reached out to me via LinkedIn and asked for my interest in Data Engineer role at Facebook. As I am currently working as a BI Developer, I thought that this would be a good opportunity for me, so I agreed to a Phone Screen.
The Phone Screen just included my past work experience, relocation preference, etc. I scheduled a phone screen after 1 month so that I could prepare well for it. The recruiter gave me decent amount of materials to prepare.

Phone Screen (1 hour):
They basically ask 5 programming (Python or other mainstream languages) and 5 SQL questions, giving 30 minutes for each section . The questions are of moderate difficulty but solving all of them within time-limit can be difficult. That is why it is advised to actually prepare online coding via Leetcode and Hackerrank rather than just relying on questions from existing interview experiences. I was able to completely solve 4 Python questions, with 1 question almost completed and 3 SQL questions completely solved, with 1 question almost completed. The ‘almost-completed’ questions in both sections were logically ‘satisfactory’ according to the interviewer.

Onsite Prep Call (1 hour):